UPDATES
NEWS
LATEST

Fashion graduates take home top prizes in innovation and social responsibility

Tue 29 Sep

Two Manchester Fashion Institute graduates were victorious at the prestigious Graduate Fashion Foundation Awards 2020

Fashion and Textiles move up to 6th in national league table

Wed 23 Sep

Results mark the third consecutive year of improvement for Manchester Fashion Institute

Graduate named as finalist in global fashion competition run by MTV Breaks

Mon 21 Sep

Bew Chan-Aphat’s designs selected in Music Meets Fashion Competition

Lady Gaga's VMAs performance is part of a long international tradition of performing with masks

Wed 9 Sep

Fashion lecturer Benjamin Wild discusses the history of face coverings in art, music and dance

University technicians produce masks for facilities colleagues

Thu 20 Aug

250 facemasks created in collaboration between fashion and textiles technicians

Fashion students cross virtual borders to China to collaborate during lockdown

Tue 11 Aug

New project with Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology is latest example of international partnership in the country

Fashion students reach finals of Graduate Fashion Foundation Awards

Wed 29 Jul

Prestigious awards highlight best in graduating talent

Parallels, problems and possibilities of mask-wearing in pandemics

Fri 24 Jul

Cultural historian and fashion lecturer Dr Benjamin Wild on mandatory face coverings

Students Take Part in GFF x TikTok Residency Project

Thu 23 Jul

Participants of the two-week residency produced the first-ever European range of official TikTok merchandise

Students and staff collaborate on employability skills guide

Wed 15 Jul

The guide will be used to support future students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels

Manchester Fashion Institute launches end-of-year digital showcase

Wed 1 Jul

‘Class of 2020’ digital platform celebrates work of graduating students

Coronavirus: Fashion Institute academic raises over £70,000 for domestic violence and homelessness charities

Tue 23 Jun

Artist Sian Bonnell’s collective sold prints from 70 leading artists to aid COVID-19 response

Student work showcased at first digital London Fashion Week

Wed 17 Jun

‘Class of 2020’ create films showing exciting and innovative designs

Manchester Metropolitan and Pearl Academy collaborate on virtual mobility fashion and journalism project

Thu 11 Jun

Fashion Promotion and Multimedia Journalism students have collaborated with Pearl Academy students in Delhi on an online project focussed on sustainable fashion.

Coronavirus: Three ways to prevent PPE shortages in future outbreaks

Fri 5 Jun

Provision of equipment should fall under critical national infrastructure, argue policy and manufacturing experts

Fashion Design and Technology students collaborate with Old Navy

Tue 26 May

Industry partner gives students opportunity to work on live project

Manchester Fashion Institute awarded CMI HE Partner of the Year

Thu 21 May

Recognition given for impact on student experience, professional development and employability

Fashion Design and Technology graduate shortlisted for International Design Award

Fri 15 May

Morgan Allen's 'MRGN The Label' collection is amongst 33 finalists for the iD International Emerging Designer Award

Prisons to make vital medical scrubs for the NHS as part of Manchester Metropolitan University-led appeal

Wed 6 May

Production has started on thousands of medical scrubs using design template from Manchester Fashion Institute

Anticipating the future of clothing retail on the High Street

Tue 5 May

Maria Malone and Dr Steve Millington consider the post-pandemic outlook for fashion stores

Manufacturers urgently needed after medical scrubs and gown template rapidly built by University fashion technicians

Fri 17 Apr

GM Mayor praises Fashion Institute innovation and support for frontline NHS workers

Fashion graduate showcases collection at London Fashion Week

Wed 11 Mar

Leo John Caligan’s innovative designs impress at GFW Presents

Fashion students win awards at British Library x Charles Jeffrey Research competition

Mon 9 Mar

Two Fashion Design & Technology students impressed panel of judges

Endangered bark cloth craft could support sustainable fashion initiatives

Mon 27 Jan

Ancient Ugandan tradition in decline over recent decades

Older News   Conferences & Events