UPDATES
NEWS
LATEST

Fashion Design and Technology present the Outerwear Showcase

Mon 15 Jan

Second year students on the Fashion Design and Technology presented the work from their outerwear project at a showcase in the Fashion Institute.

The fashion and costumes of Star Wars

Wed 20 Dec

Manchester Fashion Institute’s Alison Welsh on the style of the Star Wars universe

Business Project Trading Event 2017

Tue 12 Dec

Final Year students from across Manchester Fashion Institute showcased and sold the results from their business projects.

Fashion Buying and Merchandising trip to John Smedley knitwear factory

Wed 6 Dec

Established in 1784, John Smedley are the oldest manufacturing factory in the world, crafting beautiful, high quality garments that are designed to last, made in Britain and distributed the world over.

Manchester Fashion Café – Grand Opening

Fri 24 Nov

The new café in the Righton Building is officially open for business.

Fashion and Business Saturday Club visit London

Fri 24 Nov

On Saturday 18 November, the Fashion and Business Saturday Club headed down to Central Saint Martins in London.

Fashion Design and Technology Sportswear Research Project

Wed 22 Nov

Students studying on the Fashion Design and Technology Sportswear pathway have been conducting research into body performance focusing on an international gymnast.

Fashion Buying and Merchandising do Shanghai

Tue 21 Nov

Final Year students from the Fashion Buying and Merchandising course recently went on a study trip to Shanghai to visit factories and head offices alongside cultural study.

Puma visit Manchester Fashion Institute

Mon 20 Nov

Fashion Design and Technology students had the opportunity to listen to an inspiring talk from the sportswear brand.

London Study Trip

Fri 17 Nov

First year students from across our International Fashion Promotion and Fashion Buying and Merchandising courses recently visited London as part of a study trip.

Stories of the Unworn & Mapping the Body

Wed 15 Nov

As part of the ESRC Festival of Science, supported by RAH, Stories of the Unworn and Mapping the body were 3D body scanning and a clothes swap with a difference.

#FashionCommunity presents: a day at AW Hainsworth Mill

Thu 9 Nov

Students from Level 5 of our Fashion Design and Technology course went on a sponsored study trip to the AW Hainsworth Mill, West Yorkshire, on Wednesday 1 November.

Fashion courses climb prestigious global school rankings

Wed 1 Nov

Manchester School of Art and Manchester Fashion Institute listed among worldwide elite

Another successful Mock Assessment Centre for Manchester Fashion Institute students

Tue 31 Oct

Employability is embedded into the curriculum to provide an experiential learning experience for our students

Righton Café Coming Soon...

Thu 26 Oct

The reception area at Righton is about to undergo some refurbishment, with the addition of a much needed café area at the front of the building.

Marks and Spencer Fit and Style

Wed 25 Oct

Eleven students from Manchester Fashion Institute receive part-time paid roles.

#FASHIONCOMMUNITY presents a day trip to Chatsworth House.

Thu 19 Oct

Students from across Manchester Fashion Institute went on a day trip to visit the ‘House Style’ exhibition in Chatsworth House on Wednesday 18 October.

Outdoor Gothic fashion parade to wow Manchester ahead of Halloween

Fri 13 Oct

Stunning catwalk event to round off the 2017 Gothic Manchester Festival

Hermèsmatic at Design Manchester Festival

Wed 11 Oct

Students attend exclusive, invite-only Hermes event as part of Design Manchester Festival.

Exhibition captures Mancunian identities through fashion

Wed 4 Oct

Portrait Youth at Manchester Central Library, opens Monday 9 October

Real beauty doesn’t need to be retouched

Mon 2 Oct

Fashion lecturer Maria Malone writes on Getty Images' decision to ban pictures of airbrushed models

Introducing RAH!: research to shout about

Wed 27 Sep

The inaugural Research in Arts and Humanities public programme of events theme is 'Finding Voices'

Manchester Fashion Institute alumna wins Bronze Award at International Youth Design Competition 2017 in Beijing.

Tue 26 Sep

Fashion Design and Technology: Womenswear graduate, Niamh Clarke, wowed the judges with her ‘Tailored Sportswear’ collection.

Ghost ship sculpture anchors in North East museum

Wed 20 Sep

Stephen Dixon and Alison Welsh's 'Refuge' will be exhibited in Stockton-on-Tees

Conferences & Events